Hands-on review
Tractive DOG 6 review: the UK buyer's hands-on verdict
This is our hands-on Tractive DOG 6 review for UK buyers, written around a unit we bought at retail and are wearing in on our own dogs. The short version: the DOG 6 is the most complete GPS dog tracker you can put on a collar for under £60, but buying it from the UK is strangely awkward, and the real cost sits in the subscription, not the hardware. If you are still weighing up brands, start with our guide to the best dog GPS trackers. This page goes deep on one device.
What the Tractive DOG 6 is
The Tractive DOG 6 is a 39 g GPS tracker that clips to any collar up to 2.8 cm wide. It fixes its position using GPS, GLONASS and Galileo satellites, then sends that position to your phone over the mobile network using a built-in LTE (Cat 1bis) modem. That last part matters more than any spec sheet line: because the tracker uses mobile data, there is no practical range limit, but there is also no way to run it for free. The SIM only works against a paid Tractive plan, so the device is inert without a subscription. We explain the technical why on our page about how dog GPS trackers work, and the commercial why on whether Tractive works without a subscription (spoiler: it does not).
In normal use the DOG 6 reports its position every 2 to 60 minutes depending on movement. Switch to live tracking during an escape and Tractive claims updates every 2 to 3 seconds. On top of location you get virtual fences with escape alerts, activity and sleep tracking, bark monitoring, and, new for this generation, heart and respiratory rate monitoring. There is an LED and a speaker on the housing for finding a dog in the dark or in undergrowth.
On our bench dogs the housing has taken daily scrapes, mud and a fair amount of chewing-adjacent abuse without visible damage, which squares with Tractive's bite-proof fibreglass claim. Whether the battery and accuracy claims hold up is a different question, and one we answer with measurements, not vibes: see the claimed vs measured table below.
The UK buying quirk: no UK store, £59 on eBay
Here is the odd part. Tractive, an Austrian company selling heavily into the UK, has no UK storefront. The sitemap on tractive.com serves a single /en/ site, and prices are geo-served: from a UK connection you see the DOG 6 at €69, in euros, with no sterling option. Your bank then sets the exchange rate and may add a non-sterling transaction fee.
The sterling route is eBay. Tractive runs an official eBay UK shop (seller name Tractive®Shop, shipping from Pasching, Austria), and when we checked on 29 August 2026 it listed the DOG 6 new at £59.00, with eBay's 30-day returns applying. The same shop sells manufacturer-refurbished DOG 6 units for less, which Tractive says pass the same functional testing as new stock. Amazon.co.uk also carries the DOG 6 through various sellers, but the eBay shop is the one channel where you are verifiably buying from Tractive itself in pounds.
Two practical notes from our own purchase experience. First, stock ships from Austria, so allow a few extra days over what you would expect from a UK warehouse. Second, the subscription is bought separately in the Tractive app or on tractive.com after activation, and that transaction will be in euros regardless of where you bought the hardware. Budget for the currency conversion on every renewal, not just once.
Claimed specifications
These are Tractive's own figures, taken from the DOG 6 product page. We list them as claims. That is what they are until our bench says otherwise.
| Specification | Tractive's claim |
|---|---|
| Weight | 39 g |
| Dimensions | 71 × 29 × 17 mm |
| Collar compatibility | Widths up to 2.8 cm |
| Battery, power saving zones on | Up to 14 days |
| Battery, power saving zones off | Up to 6 days |
| Waterproofing | IP68, described as 100% waterproof |
| Housing | Bite-proof fibreglass casing |
| Connectivity | LTE/4G (Cat 1bis), Bluetooth 5.0, WiFi 2.4 GHz |
| Positioning | GPS, GLONASS, Galileo |
| Live tracking interval | Updates every 2 to 3 seconds |
| Standard tracking interval | Every 2 to 60 minutes |
| Health features | Heart and respiratory rate, activity, sleep, bark monitoring |
| App requirements | Android 10.0+, iOS 17.0+ |
One claim worth flagging before you anchor on it: the 14-day battery figure assumes power saving zones, meaning the tracker spends most of its time on your home WiFi doing very little. A dog that actually goes places will see much less, and heavy live tracking during a real escape drains the battery fastest of all, exactly when you need it most.

Claimed vs measured
This is the table this site exists for. We publish the manufacturer's claim next to our own measurement, and where the measurement has not finished, the cell says pending. It never says a number we did not record. Our protocol is on how we test, and raw session notes land in the testing log as they happen.
| What we are checking | Tractive's claim | Our measurement |
|---|---|---|
| Battery, power saving zones on | Up to 14 days | pending |
| Battery, power saving zones off | Up to 6 days | pending |
| Battery under sustained live tracking | Not stated | pending |
| Live tracking update interval | Every 2 to 3 seconds | pending |
| Time to first accurate fix after idle | Not stated | pending |
| Escape alert delay after crossing a virtual fence | Not stated | pending |
What it really costs a UK owner
The £59 sticker is the small number. The subscription is the big one. Because Tractive geo-serves euros to UK customers, every renewal carries a currency conversion set by your card provider. Here is the full plan grid as served to a UK visitor.
| Plan | Billing period | Billed amount | Monthly equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|
| Basic | Monthly | €13 | €13.00 |
| Basic | 1 year | €84 | €7.00 |
| Basic | 2 years | €120 | €5.00 |
| Premium | 1 year | €96 | €8.00 |
| Premium | 2 years | €144 | €6.00 |
| Premium | 5 years | €300 | €5.00 |
Some maths worth doing before you commit. Over five years, monthly Basic billing costs €780. Stacking the cheapest Basic terms (two years, two years, one year) comes to €324. The Premium five-year prepay is €300, which means Premium, the higher tier, is actually the cheapest way to run a DOG 6 long term, provided you are comfortable paying five years up front. Note that Premium has no monthly billing at all. The shortest commitment on that tier is a year.
So a realistic five-year cost of ownership is £59 for the hardware plus somewhere between €300 and €780 in subscription, before conversion fees. That prepay decision interacts directly with the ownership question in the next section. For the plan-by-plan detail, cancellation terms and how the tiers differ, see our full breakdown of Tractive subscription costs in the UK, and for how this compares across brands, our guide to what dog GPS trackers really cost.

Company context: Bending Spoons now owns Tractive
Tractive was founded in 2012 in Pasching, Austria, and grew into the market leader in pet GPS, acquiring US rival Whistle in August 2025. Then it was bought itself. Milan-based Bending Spoons announced a definitive agreement in March 2026 and closed the acquisition on 15 May 2026 (Businesswire, 15 May 2026), at a price later reported from Bending Spoons' IPO prospectus as around €770 million.
What happened next is the part that matters to a buyer weighing a five-year prepay. Austrian and European tech press (trendingtopics.eu, June 2026) reported that roughly 160 of Tractive's approximately 300 staff would be cut, with Bending Spoons citing the need for a leaner organisation. That follows the pattern of the company's earlier acquisitions, including deep cuts at Vimeo after that deal closed in 2025.
We are not predicting doom. Tractive's service has kept running through the transition, the subscriber base is large, and Bending Spoons has a record of operating acquired products for the long haul. But a five-year, €300 prepaid subscription is now a bet on a new owner's roadmap rather than on the company that built the product, with half the original team gone. Our measured take: the two-year Basic term (€120, €5 a month equivalent) buys almost all of the Premium prepay's savings with far less exposure. That is the plan we would pick today.

What owners complain about
Tractive's Trustpilot profile scored 4.7 out of 5 across roughly 59,400 reviews when we checked on 29 August 2026, which is genuinely strong at that volume. The negative minority clusters around four themes: slow or unresponsive customer support, batteries draining faster than expected or failing to charge, app lag and delayed tracker registration, and friction in the returns and replacement process.
Positive reviews, for balance, most often praise reliable tracking, the app, and dogs tolerating the device well. That matches our early hands-on impression. But impressions are not evidence. So we are attempting to reproduce the complaint themes on our own unit rather than just relaying them.
We track recurring faults and their fixes on a dedicated page covering common Tractive problems, and the single most-searched issue, a tracker that stops refreshing its position, gets its own troubleshooting guide: Tractive not updating location.
A note on cats
Tractive also sells the CAT Mini, a smaller tracker for cats, through the same channels including the official eBay UK shop. We have not tested it. This review says nothing about it. Our policy is simple: verdicts on this site apply only to devices that have been on our bench, on the animals they are designed for. We test dog trackers on dogs. Cat owners should treat everything above as background, not a recommendation. The policy in full is on our editorial policy page.

Who should buy the Tractive DOG 6
Buy the DOG 6 if your dog is an escape risk and you want the fastest path from "gone" to "found": unlimited-range live tracking, virtual fence alerts, and a light and speaker for the final few metres. It is also the obvious pick if you want health monitoring bundled in rather than paying for a separate activity device. At £59 for the hardware it is the cheapest entry point among the full-fat LTE trackers we cover.
Look elsewhere if the subscription is the dealbreaker. There is no way around it with Tractive, and if a monthly fee offends you on principle, our roundup of dog GPS trackers with no subscription covers the alternatives honestly, including their compromises. The most-searched of those alternatives gets a direct head-to-head in PitPat vs Tractive.
Weigh up Pawfit if you want a similar LTE tracker with cheaper long-term subscriptions. We own both and they sit on our bench side by side, and the differences in claimed accuracy, app quality and running costs are laid out in Tractive vs Pawfit.
Our position as of August 2026: the DOG 6 stays on our dogs. The hardware claim sheet is the strongest in its class at the price, the buying route is a £59 eBay order away, and nothing in our testing so far contradicts the core promise. We will let the pending cells above turn into numbers before we call it the outright winner.
Questions owners actually ask
Is the Tractive DOG 6 worth it in the UK?
The Tractive DOG 6 is worth it for UK owners who want live tracking, escape alerts and health monitoring and accept an ongoing subscription. At £59 from the official eBay shop plus €5 to €13 a month, hardware is cheap but running costs are not. Fee-averse buyers should compare no-subscription options first.
How much does the Tractive DOG 6 cost in the UK?
The Tractive DOG 6 cost £59 new from the official Tractive eBay UK shop when we checked on 29 August 2026. Tractive's own site has no UK store and geo-serves €69. A subscription is compulsory on top, from €13 monthly down to a €5 monthly equivalent on longer terms.
Does the Tractive DOG 6 work without a subscription?
The Tractive DOG 6 does not work without a subscription. The tracker sends its position over the mobile network through a built-in SIM, and Tractive only activates that SIM against a paid plan. Without one there is no live tracking, no history and no alerts, so the hardware is effectively inert.
Why does tractive.com show prices in euros to UK shoppers?
Tractive.com has no UK locale: the sitemap serves a single /en/ site and prices are geo-served in euros, so UK visitors see €69 for the DOG 6 and euro subscription prices. For sterling, Tractive's official eBay UK shop listed the DOG 6 at £59 when we checked on 29 August 2026.
How long does the Tractive DOG 6 battery last?
The Tractive DOG 6 battery is claimed to last up to 14 days with power saving zones enabled and up to 6 days without, per tractive.com on 29 August 2026. Sustained live tracking drains it much faster. Our own rundown measurements are in progress and will replace this page's pending markers.